Ex-Sooner, Dolphin athlete rides for kids

Norman- Uwe von Schamann, director of development for the J. D. McCarty Center, begins his 1,550 mile bicycle trek across Oklahoma Monday, October 3.

“A project of this size is a team effort, von Schamann said. “

“My route across Oklahoma will be approximately 1550 miles,” explained von Schamann. “Its divided into four legs. The first leg will take me from Boise City in the Panhandle to Idabel in the southeast corner of the state. Stops along this leg will be made in Boise City and Guymon on Monday, October 3; Beaver on Tuesday, October 4; Woodward on Wednesday, October 5; Seiling and Watonga on Thursday, October 6; Hinton and Newcastle on Friday, October 7; Purcell and Ada on Saturday, October 8; Coalgate and Atoka on Monday, October 10; Antlers on Tuesday, October 11; and Idabel on Wednesday, October 12.”

“The next leg will take me from Miami in the northeast to Hollis in the southwest. I'll be making stops in Miami, Vinita and Claremore on Friday, October 14; Tulsa on Saturday, Sunday and Monday, October 15,16 and 17; Chandler on Tuesday, October 18; Edmond and Norman on Wednesday, October 19; Chickasha and Lawton on Thursday, October 20; Altus on Friday, October 21; and Hollis on Saturday, October 22.

“The third leg of the trek will take me from Sweetwater to Poteau. The planned stops along this leg of the trek are in Sweetwater, Elk City and Cordell on Monday, October 24; Weatherford and Binger on Tuesday, October 25; Norman on Wednesday, October 26; Seminole on Thursday, October 27; Eufaula on Friday, October 28; and Stigler and Poteau on Saturday, October 29”

“My final leg will run from Braman to Thackerville. My stops along this leg will include Braman and Perry on Monday, October 31; Guthrie and Edmond on Tuesday, November 1; Norman and Pauls Valley on Wednesday, November 2; Ardmore on Thursday, November 3; and finally, Thackerville on Friday, November 4,” von Schamann said. The bicycle event called CrissCross Oklahoma, is the capstone event for a fund drive to raise $500,000 to build a summer camp for children with developmental disabilities. The drive has been going on since mid June.

The McCarty Center is Oklahoma's center of excellence in the care and treatment of children with developmental disabilities from birth to 21. On average, this pediatric rehab hospital will see children from 70 of Oklahoma's 77 counties each year. The McCarty Center is the only hospital of it's kind in the state.

According to von Schamann, there are no summer camps in the state of Oklahoma that are specifically designed and built for children with developmental disabilities. The McCarty Center has plans to build such a summer camp on the north shore of an 18-acre lake on the campus of the McCarty Center's new hospital. The new hospital campus is located on 80-acres on the east side of Norman.

The summer camp will initially be composed of five cabins. The McCarty Center expects to provide a one-week camp experience to about 400 children per year with eight, one-week sessions during the summer, one-week during the fall break and one-week during the spring break.

There are several ways the public can become involved in this unique fundraising event. First, von Schamann is looking for individuals, and groups, who would like to take on this fundraising campaign as a project. Individuals will be recognized for their fundraising efforts on behalf of the summer camp campaign. Riders may join von Schamann anywhere along the route; ride for as long as they want and drop out when they're ready.

Boise City News
P.O. Box 278
105 W. Main Street
Boise City, Oklahoma 73933-0278
Phone: 580 544-2222
Fax: 580 544-3281
site maintained by Wildsteps.com, Inc.